Level 1

The Divine Comedy

Dante Alighieri is lost in the dark forest.  ​
He wants  to climb the mountain ​
and find his path from there. 

3 beasts are blocking his way: ​

  • a leopard​
  • a lion​
  • a she-wolf. ​

The Roman poet Virgil appears. ​
He will be the guide of Dante.

He will help him find the way.​
But their path will take them through Hell. ​
Then, they will reach Paradise. 

Dante and Virgil go through the gates of Hell. 

There are nine circles of Hell. ​
Each circle of Hell is for a different sin. 

In the ninth circle of Hell, Dante and Virgil meet Lucifer. ​
After that, they travel back to Earth. 

Then, Dante and Virgil climb Mount Purgatory.

The souls on Mount Purgatory ​
are divided into seven terraces. ​
Each terrace represents a different kind of sin. 

The souls on each terrace ​
must suffer for their sins. ​
Then, they can move on to the next terrace. 

The sins punished in Purgatory are seven deadly sins.​

Finally, Dante and Virgil arrive to Paradise. ​
There are nine spheres of Paradise.

Angels and the blessed live there.​

The highest circle is the Empyrean.​
God lives there. 

Dante finds his path and sees God.

The Divine Comedy is a complex work. ​
There are many different interpretations of its meaning. ​
One of them is that the poem is a journey of the soul ​
from sin to salvation.